Cecile McLorin Salvant

Woman Child (MAC 1072)

Woman Child View larger

Woman Child

Cecile McLorin Salvant

Mack Avenue


MAC 136527

MAC 1072



CD 12,38 €

On WomanChild, McLorin Salvant draws on songs spanning three centuries of American music. "I like to choose songs that are a little unknown or have been recorded very few times," McLorin Salvant notes. "While these songs aren't recognized as standards, many should be because they are so beautifully crafted."

On the album, her repertoire ranges from the 19th century ballad "John Henry," refreshed in a spirited up-to-date arrangement, to McLorin Salvant's own 21st century waltz "Le Front Cache? Sur Tes Genoux" which draws on a poem by Haitian writer Ida Salomon Faubert for its lyric. She is joined by a world class band who share her concern for creating jazz of today by drawing on vibrant traditions of the past: pianist Aaron Diehl and bassist Rodney Whitaker (both of whom are Mack Avenue label mates), guitarist James Chirillo and master drummer Herlin Riley.

On WomanChild, McLorin Salvant gives music lovers the chance to hear why the illustrious judges at the Monk Competition gave her top honors. McLorin Salvant is still a bit of a mystery, but she will hardly be a secret any longer.


  • Cécile McLorin Salvant - vocal & piano on track 10
  • Aaron Diehl - piano
  • Rodney Whitaker - double bass
  • Herlin Riley - drums
  • James Chirillo - guitar, banjo

Recorded at Avatar Studios, New York, 2012


  • 01. St. Louis Gal
  • 02. I Didn't Know What Time Is Was
  • 03. Nobody
  • 04. Woman Child
  • 05. Le Front Caché Sur Tes Genoux
  • 06. Prelude / There's A Lull In My Life
  • 07. You Bring Out The Savage In Me
  • 08. Baby Have Pity On Me
  • 09. John Henry
  • 10. Jitterbug Waltz
  • 11. What A Little Moonlight Can Do
  • 12. Deep Dark Blue