Lanny Morgan

A Suite for Yardbird 1997 (FSR 5023 CD)

A Suite for Yardbird 1997 View larger


A Suite for Yardbird 1997

Lanny Morgan

Fresh Sound West Coast


ZZZ 70814

FSR 5023 CD



A Suite for Yardbird 1997

More details

This product is no longer in stock

CD 9,07 €

Featuring: Lanny Morgan (as), Lou Levy (p), Tom Warrington (b), Paul Krebich (d)

4**** by All Music Guide


1. Ornithology (Harris/Parker) - 6:08
2. Blues for Alice (Parker) - 5:26
3. Segment (Parker) - 5:26
4. Ko Ko performed by Morgan, Lanny Quartet - 4:05
5. Yardbird Suite (Parker) - 6:12
6. Marmaduke (Parker) - 6:07
7. Steeplechase (Parker) - 8:22
8. The Hymn (Parker) - 5:25
9. Klact-Oveeseds-Tene (Parker) - 4:17
10. Donna Lee (Parker) - 4:10
11. Bird Feathers (Parker) - 4:55
12. Kim/Country Gardens/Sign Off (Grainger/Parker) - 4:40

Recorded at Sage & Sound Studio, Hollywood, September 30 & October 1,1997.

"Records led by altoist Lanny Morgan are always well-worth acquiring because he is a brilliant bebop soloist. For this quartet outing with pianist Lou Levy, bassist Tom Warrington, and drummer Paul Kreibich, Morgan performs a dozen songs composed by Charlie Parker. Although no new revelations occur, it is nice to hear such obscurities as "Segment," "Marmaduke," "Steeplechase," and "Kim" revived and played in extended versions that are often five to eight minutes long. Morgan knows this material backwards and really sounds like he lives the music, adding his own ideas to the classic material. A special bonus is the extended liner notes and a very colorful historical booklet that comes with the CD."
— Scott Yanow (All Music Guide)