Rob Mazurek

Matter Anti-Matter - Sixty Three Moons of Jupiter (JAZZ)

Matter Anti-Matter - Sixty Three Moons of Jupiter View larger


Matter Anti-Matter - Sixty Three Moons of Jupiter

Rob Mazurek

Rogue Art


RGT 139360



Matter Anti-Matter - Sixty Three Moons of Jupiter

More details

CD 15,69 €


"Matter or antimatter, everything is out of proportion with Rob Mazurek's music; it is larger than nature, it has no other choice but to be so, to tell the truth. Must everything really be colossal and euphoric? The answer is yes: everything must be colossal, and euphoric….
…Wasn't the Exploding Star Orchestra created in 2005 in order to gather shattered pieces of a single celestial and musical body, Chicago, its satellites here present, the inhabitants of multi-layered formations successively assembled by Rob Mazurek, the inhabitants of the Chicago Underground, of Isotope 217, of Mandarin Movie, of Sound Is Quintet, of Starlicker, of the Pulsar Quartet, of the Skull Sessions? To gather them again on May 8th and 9th 2009 at São Paulo's Vila Mariana, on the satellite and with the inhabitants of the São Paulo Underground, and with a distant inhabitant of the Art Ensemble of Chicago, a grandmaster of gravitational fields."
- Alexandre Pierrepont, excerpt from the liner notes.


ROB MAZUREK, direction, cornet (CD 1), electronics (CD 2), compositions
ROSCOE MITCHELL, alto & soprano saxophones
NICOLE MITCHELL, flutes & voice
MATANA ROBERTS, alto saxophone
MATT BAUDER, tenor saxophone
STEVE SWELL, trombone
JASON ADASIEWICZ, vibraphone & tubular bells
KEVIN DUMM, electronics
MATTHEW LUX, bass guitar
MAURICIO TAKARA, cavaquino & percussions
GUILHIERME GRANADO, samplers & marimba
MIKE REED, drums

Recorded live on May 9th 2009 by Egidio Conde at SESC Vila Marina, Sao Paulo, Brazil.

CD 1:
01. Lo and Volcanic (3:31)
02. Europa (7:18)
03. Ganymede and the Ice Parade (5:25)
04. Callisto the Bear (8:29)
05. Himalia a Metaphor for Joe Frazier (5:15)
06. Almathea is Red (8:14)
07. Elara Beneath the Underground (6:43)
08. Pasiphae Gives Birth to the Minotaur(4:24)

01. Cryogenics After the Land of Spirals (17:55)
02. Pondering the Hidden Light (3:24)
03. Stalking the Spectrum of Inevitable (17:04)
04. Last Breath on the Forgotten Planet (1:07)
05. Ascension Dream Phoenix (8:48)