Elvin Jones

Mr. Jones (80th Anniversary Edition) (0602508454707)

Mr. Jones (Blue Note 80 Vinyl Reissue Series) View larger

Mr. Jones (80th Anniversary Edition)

Elvin Jones

Blue Note


LPS 160076




This product is no longer in stock

LP 24,78 €

Blue Note 80 Vinyl Edition


theme: drummers leaders pt. 2

After his six years with the seminal John Coltrane Quartet, the mighty drummer Elvin Jones signed with Blue Note Records in 1968 and made a series of 10 fantastic albums including 1972’s Mr. Jones, produced by Francis Wolff and George Butler, and featuring saxophonists Dave Liebman, Steve Grossman, and Pepper Adams, Thad Jones on flugelhorn, pianist Jan Hammer, bassist Gene Perla, and percussionists Carlos “Patato” Valdes, Frank Ippolito, and Albert Duffy. The music delves into expansive post-bop with Latin influences and includes an impassioned version of Tadd Dameron’s gorgeous ballad “Soultrane” in dedication to Coltrane.


  • ELVIN JONES, drums
  • STEVE GROSSMAN, tenor sax
  • DAVID LIEBMAN, tenor sax, soprano sax
  • PARK "PEPPER ADAMS, baritone sax
  • THAD JONES, flugelhorn
  • JAN HAMMER, piano
  • GENE PERLA, bass
  • FRANK IPPOLITO, percussion
  • CARLOS VALDES, conga

New Jersey July 12, 1972


  • SIDE A
  • A1. One's Native Place
  • A2. Gee Gee
  • A3. Mr. Jones
  • SIDE B
  • B1. What's Up-That's It
  • B2. Soultrane
  • B3. New Breed