The Spike Orchestra

Splintered Stories (TZ 4031)

Splintered Stories View larger

Splintered Stories

The Spike Orchestra



TZA 160872

TZ 4031



CD 14,03 €


Splintered Stories is the brilliant new CD by Sam Eastmond of the Spike Orchestra, whose sparkling arrangements of Masada compositions were a highlight of both The Book of Angels and Zorn’s Book Beri’ah. Filled with startling instrumental colors, fiery solos, driving rhythms and moody harmonies, the music is brilliantly performed by this tight 15-piece big band and lovingly mixed by Marc Urselli. Cutting edge big band music for the 21st century by one of the most powerful ensembles working today!


  • Yazz Ahmed, (tp, flhn))
  • Harry Brown, (tb))
  • Olly Chalk, (p))
  • Josephine Davies, (ts,ss))
  • Sam Eastmond, (cond))
  • Moss Freed, (g))
  • Will Glaser, (d))
  • George Hogg, (tp, flhn))
  • Noel Langley, (tp, flhn))
  • Jeff Miller, (tba))
  • Gemma Moore(bs, b-cl))
  • Damon Oliver (ts, fl))
  • Tim Smart, (tb))
  • Mike Wilkins (as, cl))
  • Otto Willberg, (b)


  • 01. The Pink Shagpile
  • 02. Matriarch Variations
  • 03. Here and Now
  • 04. Standing on the Shoulders of Giant Slayers