Rudiger Carl

King Alcohol (CvsDcd032)

King Alcohol View larger

King Alcohol

Rudiger Carl

Corbett vs. Dempsey


CVD 162394




CD 18,17 €


A reissue of King Alcohol, recorded for the German FMP label in 1972. King Alcohol is one of the landmark recordings of free jazz in Europe, a mind-blowing studio session featuring Rüdiger Carl on tenor saxophone, Günter Christmann on trombone, and the astonishing Detlef Schönenberg on drums. Volatile and precise, anticipating much of the future sound of free music in Europe but also paying homage to American antecedents like Roswell Rudd and Archie Shepp, King Alcohol is truly a lost jewel. First ever release on CD. Features a disc of newly discovered, previously unreleased bonus tracks. Remastered from the original tapes. Cover art features a reproduction of the insanely rare first-pressing cover with its black-and-white line drawing by Carl himself.


  • Rudiger Carl - tenor saxophone
  • Gunter Christmann - trombone
  • Detlef Schonenberg - drums

Recorded live at the Akademie der Künste in Berlin, Germany, on January 12th, 1972


  • CD ONE
  • 01. King Alcohol
  • 02. Thrombose
  • 03. Aeiou
  • 04. Rush-Hour / Something / Triotrip
  • CD TWO
  • 01. KA Alt #1
  • 02. KA Alt #2
  • 03. KA Alt #3
  • 04. KA Alt #4
  • 05. KA Alt #5
  • 06. KA Alt #6
  • 07. KA Alt #7