Play the Music of Bill Frisell Vol. 1 (Colored LP) (001-2105RED)

Play the Music of Bill Frisell Vol. 1 (Colored LP) View larger

Play the Music of Bill Frisell Vol. 1 (Colored LP)

Hora Records


LPS 168009




This product is no longer in stock

LP 24,78 €


Bill Frisell is undoubtedly one of the most influential masters in today’s jazz landscape. However, his compositions remain unexplored, perhaps because of a lack of critical distance, perhaps because their apparent simplicity hides impenetrable folds to those who lack the right perspective.

Musically speaking, Unscientific Italians is not a tribute or an orchestral rendition of Frisell’s music, but rather an idiosyncratic rewriting and orchestration that borrows his compositional and instrumental language. This work has also a documentary value, since it draws from a seminal phase of Frisell’s production – the early Nineties – that today seems to be neglected despite his unambiguous celebration by audience and critics.


  • Alfonso Santimone (piano)
  • Mirco Rubegni (trumpet)
  • Fulvio Sigurta (trumpet)
  • Filippo Vignato (trombone)
  • Federico Pierantoni (trombone)
  • Cristiano Arcelli (saxophone, alto)
  • Piero Bittolo Bon (saxophone, alto)
  • Francesco Bigoni (saxophone, tenor)
  • Rossano Emili (saxophone, baritone)
  • Danilo Gallo (bass, acoustic)
  • Zeno De Rossi (drums)

Recorded in Corrggio (RE), Italy, October 22 & 23, 2019/p>


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Before We Were Born
  • A2. Probability Cloud
  • A3. Unsung Heroes
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Hangdog
  • B2. Rob Roy
  • B3. Twenty Years
  • B3. Verona