Jan Garbarek

Mnemosyne (ECM 1700/01)

Mnemosyne View larger



Jan Garbarek

ECM New Series


ECM 74380

ECM 1700/01



CD 12,38 €

Jan Garbarek tenor or soprano saxophones
David James countertenor
Rogers Covey-Crump tenor
John Potter tenor
Gordon Jones baritone

Quechua Sing
O Lords in Thee is all My Trust
Estonian Lullaby
Remember Me My Dear
Fayrfax Africanus
Agnus Dei
Novus novus
Se je fayz dueil
O ignis spiritus
Alleluia nativitatis
Delphic Paean
Strophe and Counter-Strophe
Estonian Lullaby
Russian Psalm
Eagle Dance
When Jesus Wept
Hymn To The Sun

Recorded April 1998

Five years after the recording of "Officium", the Hilliard Ensemble and Jan Garbarek returned to the monastery of St Gerold to renew, in the words of singer John Potter, their "encounter with the unknown." The resultant, very beautiful, double-album, "Mnemosyne", is wider in scope than its predecessor, and the improvised component of the music is expanded. Repertoire now spans 22 centuries, from the "Delphic Paean" of Athenaeus to the "Estonian Lullaby" of Veljo Tormis, via folk song fragments from North and South America and Spain, freely developed, as well as pieces by Tallis, Dufay, Brumel, Hildegard von Bingen, Jan Garbarek, a Russian psalm, a Scottish ballad of the 16th century, and much more. "We did it for each other in the absence of an audience, and these are complete one-off performances which will never sound the same again."