Art Pepper

Vol. 1 - Complete Abashiri Concert - Nov 22, 1981 (APMCD 06001)

Vol. 1 - Complete Abashiri Concert - Nov 22, 1981 View larger


Vol. 1 - Complete Abashiri Concert - Nov 22, 1981

Art Pepper

Widows Taste


JMD 119051

APMCD 06001



Vol. 1 - Complete Abashiri Concert - Nov 22, 1981

More details

This product is no longer in stock

CD 15,69 €



Despite his precarious health, wrecked by decades of doping, Art Pepper was performing and recording at a furious pace during his last seven years, trying to make up for lost time. There is a tremendous amount of material already issued from those years -- and since this initial release from Laurie Pepper's label Widow's Taste is designated Vol. 1, there must be much more on the shelf. Hopefully the rest of the booty is as good as this one, a souvenir of Pepper's last tour of Japan, where he had become the country's number one jazz alto sax star even before he returned to performing. If there is any trace of Pepper's health problems, it can only be heard in his mumbling introductions, for his alto sax playing is completely unimpaired seven months before his death. Backed by one of his favorite quartets - with George Cables, David Williams and Carl Burnett - Pepper is extraordinary throughout, whether sending up rockets into the outside, running the bop line, playing lyrically, or getting down to basic soul-jazz.


Abashiri Shimin Kaikan Hall, Japan, Nov 22, 1981.


  • CD ONE:
  • 01. Landscape
  • 02. Besame Mucho
  • 03. Red Car
  • 04. Goodbye
  • 05. Straight Life
  • CD TWO:
  • 01. Road Waltz
  • 02. For Freddie (Part One)
  • 03. For Freddie (Part Two)
  • 04. Body & Soul
  • 05. Talking
  • 06. Rhythm-A-Ning
  • 07. Blues Encore (inc.)