Duke Ellington

The Treasury Shows - Vol 17 (9039017)

The Treasury Shows - Vol 17 View larger

The Treasury Shows - Vol 17

Duke Ellington



STA 140277




The Treasury Shows - Vol. 17

More details

CD 14,04 €

In April 1945, to promote the sale of war bonds, the Treasury Department contracted Duke Ellington to do a series of 55 min public broadcasts. This double CD contains broadcast no. 32 and 33 complete with radio speaks and encouragements to buy bonds + bonus material and extensive liner notes.

CD1 features broadcast no. 32 which was recorded at Radio City Studio 6B in New York City on November 24, 1945. The CD also features 11 bonus tracks from two broadcasts at the Hurricane Restaurant recorded April 9 and 20, 1944.

CD 2 features broadcast no. 33 recorded at the Civic Opera House in Chicago January 20, 1946. The CD also features five bonus tracks from the Hurricane Restaurant in NYC recorded April 21 and 24, 1944

The whole Duke Ellington Treasury Shows series will be 24 double CD’s. So far Storyville has releases 17 and the rest are on the way! Treasury vol. 17 is the latest in the series.


Rex Stewart, Shelton Hemphill, Bernard Flood, Francis Williams, Cat Anderson, Taft Jordan (tp)
Joe Nanton, Juan Tizol, Wilbur DeParis, Claude Jones, Lawrence Brown (tb),
Jimmy Hamilton, Elbert Williams (ts, cl), Johnny Hodges, Otto Hardwick (as),
Al Sears (ts), Harry Carney (brts, cl), Duke Ellington, Billy Strayhorn (p), Fred Guy (g),
Oscar Pettiford, Junior Raglin (b), Sonny Greer (d),
Joya Sherrill, Kay Davis, Al Hibler, The Melotones (voc).

CD 1:

01. Take the "A" Train & intro
02. Way Low
03. "c" Jam Blues
04. The Kissing Bug
05. Duke Ellington Bond Promo
06. Juast A-Sittin' and A-Rockin
07. Caldonia
08. Fancy Dan
09. I'm Just A Lucky Son and So
10. Take the "A" Train
11. Take the "A" Train
12. The Last Time I Saw You
13. On The Atchinson, Topeka and Santa Fe
14. Duke Ellington Bond Promo
15. If I Loved You
16. I Can't Begin to Tell You
17. The Wonder of You
18. Riff 'N' Drill and Close
19. Take the "A" Train
20. Do Nothin' Till You Hear Me From Me
21. It Don't Mean A Thing If It Ain's Got That Swing
22. Things Ain't What I Used to Be
23. Take the "A" Train
24. San Fernando Valley
25. Way Low (aborted)
26. Summertime
27. On the Alamo
28. Things Ain't What I Used to Be

CD 2:

01. Caravan
02. Rugged Romeo
03. Sono
04. Air Condicionated Jungle
05. Circe
06. Rhapsoditty
07. Fugueaditty
08. Take the "A" Train
09. Jam-A-Ditty
10. Magenta Haze
11. Diminuendo In Blue, Transblucency, Crescendo In Blue
12. Pitter Panther Patter
13. The Suburbanite
14. Boys Meets Horn
15. Jump for Joy
16. Three Cent Stomp
17. Solid Old Man
18. How Blue the Night
19. Ring Dem Bells