Sarah Vaughan

The Divine One (PPAN SR52060)

The Divine One View larger

The Divine One

Sarah Vaughan

Pure Pleasure


LPS 147118

PPAN SR52060



The Divine One

More details

LP 24,78 €


Recorded just after Sarah Vaughan joined the Roulette label in 1960, "The Divine One" found her in exactly the right circumstances to suit her excellent talents. Arranged by Jimmy Jones, who also sits in on piano, the setting was a small group that included one strong voice to accentuate hers -- and no less a strong and clear voice than trumpeter Harry "Sweets" Edison (the perfect accompaniment for Vaughan).

"The Divine One" is mostly a ballads collection, and it includes a few songs that were new to her repertoire -- good choices like "Have You Met Miss Jones?" (aka "Old Jones"), "When Your Lover Has Gone," "Wrap Your Troubles in Dreams," and "Jump for Joy." One great left-field choice is "Ain't No Use," the R&B song taken as a slow torch song that Big Maybelle had first recorded (Nina Simonedidn't record it until several years later). Roulette would soon push Vaughan in many different directions -- releasing over a dozen LPs in just a few short years -- but this small-group date is a gem.. by John Bush/AMG


01. Have You Met Miss Jones?
02. Ain't No Use
03. Everytime I See You
04. You Stepped Out Of A Dream
05. Gloomy Sunday 6.What Do You See In Her


01. Jump For Joy
02. When Your Lover Has Gone
03. I'm Gonna Laugh You Out Of My Life
04. Wrap Your Troubles In Dreams
05. Somebody Else's Dream
06. Trouble Is A Man