Stefano Battaglia

Pelagos (ECM 2570/71)

Pelagos View larger


Stefano Battaglia



ECM 150928

ECM 2570/71



CD 18,99 €


Stefano Battaglia plays both piano and prepared piano (sometimes simultaneously) in a highly attractive double-album programme that includes his own compositions and spontaneous improvisations as well as two versions of the Arabic traditional song “Lamma Bada Yatathanna”. The melodic and texturally-inventive pieces, some of almost hypnotic allure, were recorded both in concert and in “closed doors” sessions at the Fazoli Concert Hall in Sacile, Italy, in May 2016, and subsequently arranged into what Battaglia describes as “a wonderful new shape with a completely new dramaturgy” by producer Manfred Eicher.

STEFANO BATTAGLIA, piano, prepared piano

CD 1

01. Destino
02. Pelagos
03. Migralia
04. Lamma Bada Yatathanna
05. Processional
06. Halap
07. Dogon
08. Life

CD 2

01. Lampedusa
02. Hora Mundi
03. Lamma Bada Yatathanna (var.)
04. Exilium
05. Migration Mantra
06. Horgos e Roszke
07. Ufratu
08. Heron
09. Brenner Toccata