Kit Downes

Obisidian (ECM 2559)

Obisidian View larger


Kit Downes



ECM 151761

ECM 2559



CD 13,22 €

"Obsidian" is the first ECM solo album from Kit Downes. Previously heard as pianist on the debut recording of Thomas Strønen’s group Time Is A Blind Guide in 2015, Downes (born 1986 in Norwich, UK) is widely-regarded as one of the outstanding British jazz players of his generation, through his work with his trio and with groups such as Troyka, the Golden Age of Steam and Enemy, as well as long running collaborations with Stan Sulzmann and Clark Tracey. The present recording, however, has little overt connection to “jazz” – although it could only have been made by an improviser of subtle sensibilities, and wide-ranging musical knowledge. It features Downes on church organ, exploring the idiosyncrasies of three different instruments.


KIT DOWNES, organs
TOM CHALLENGERS, tenor sax on "Modern Gods"

Recorded Novemeber 24-27,Snape Church, Union Chapel, Bromeswell Church.


01. Kings
02. Black Is The Colour
03. Rings Of Saturn
04. Seeing Things
05. Modern Gods
06. The Bone Gambler
07. Flying Foxes
08. Ruth’s Song For The Sea
09. Last Leviathan
10. The Gift