Billy Hart

The Trio (PCD-7044)

The Trio View larger

The Trio

Billy Hart



JFU 149406




CD 10,74 €

This 1978 Progressive session was only Billy Hart’s second as a leader. All the music recorded here has, not only survived the test of time, but sound as fresh today. Nothing is superfluous in this well-chosen set. Each track seems to be of the perfect length and an ideal balance is struck between thematic and improvised elements. It includes three unissued performances, two of them alternate tracks, but the third, and final track of the album, is an even rarer find. Antonio Carlos Jobim’s Once I Loved is completely unissued, most probably to fit within the time limit on the original LP.


  • Walter Bishop Jr. - piano
  • George Mraz - bass
  • Billy Hart - drums


  • 01. This Thing
  • 02. There Will Never Be Another You
  • 03. Nancy
  • 04. Minority
  • 05. Night In Tunisia
  • 06. Waltz For Zweetie
  • 07. Every Time We Say Goodbye
  • 08. For All We Know
  • 09. Anthropology
  • 10. This Thing (alt Tk5)
  • 11. For All We Know (alt Tk6)
  • 12. Once I Loved (unissued Tk2)