Art Pepper

Vol. 10 - Unreleased Art Pepper - Toronto (APMCD 10)

Vol. 10 - Unreleased Art Pepper - Toronto View larger

Vol. 10 - Unreleased Art Pepper - Toronto

Art Pepper

Widows Taste


JMD 155894




Currently unavailable

CD 18,17 €


In 1977, Art Pepper's jazz comeback had been moving along pretty quietly, and he was still playing bar mitzvahs and weddings, when producer John Snyder helped engineer the alto saxophonist's first tour outside California. With soul ablaze, with his defiant wit, and with the musical mastery he'd honed throughout his reckless life, Pepper took his first step onto the world stage at Toronto's Bourbon Street nightclub on June 16, 1977.

That night's triumphant performances are documented in the new Widow's Taste 3-CD set, Unreleased Art Pepper Vol. 10: Toronto, which will be released November 2. The absolute love with which Toronto jazz fans greeted him surprised Art and gave him the boost he needed from the very start. And the superb young musicians at this gig were supportive and challenging. He always felt that good musicians had something to teach him, and these fellows all went on to fine careers. During the 30-minute interview with Toronto disc jockey Hal Hill, which is included in the new package, Art praises them, sincerely, especially the pianist, Bernie Senensky. He enjoyed their youth; the prodigious David Piltch was only 17. Piltch alternates with the impressive Gene Perla on bass, and the drummer, Terry Clarke, seems to have played with every soloist on earth. They solo beautifully. They back him perfectly.


  • Art Pepper - alto saxophone
  • Bernie Senensky - piano
  • Gene Perla - bass
  • Dave Piltch - bass
  • Terry Clarke - drums

Recorded live on June 16, 1977 Toronto, Canada.


  • CD ONE:
  • 01. A Song for Richard
  • 02. Long Ago and Far Away
  • 03. Here's That Rainy Day
  • 04. Blues for Heard
  • 05. What Is This Thing Called Love?
  • CD TWO:
  • 01. All the Things You Are
  • 02. Band Intros
  • 03. The Summer Knows
  • 04. I'll Remember April
  • 01. Samba Mom Mom
  • 02. Star Eyes
  • 03. Interview