Jason Moran

Mass (Howl, eon) (888295662161)

Mass (Howl, eon) View larger

Mass (Howl, eon)

Jason Moran

Yes Records


DRJ 162655




This product is no longer in stock

CD 20,64 €


The album is a collaboration with visual artist Julie Mehretu, a winner of a McArthur Foundation “genius” grant, who was commissioned to create two paintings by SF MoMA. Over the course of a year she worked in a Harlem church, which was one of the only places large enough to accommodate the size of the paintings, titled “Howl, eon I, II”, monumental, abstract reinterpretations of American landscapes measuring 27×32 feet. As she worked on the paintings, Jason Moran frequently set up shop in the balcony playing piano and Rhodes, taking inspiration both from Mehretu’s work and the acoustics of the space. Moran recorded the resulting work with Williams and Haynes in the church.


  • Jason Moran - piano, rhodes, percussion
  • Graham Haynes - cornet and electronics
  • Jamire Williams - drums

Recorded at the Church of St. Thomas the Apostle in Harlem, NY on June 1, 2017


  • 01. Benediction
  • 02. Confession
  • 03. Creed
  • 04. Invocation
  • 05. Offertory
  • 06. Responsorial
  • 07. Summon