Live in Europe 1970-1971 (889397900793)

Live in Europe 1970-1971 View larger

Live in Europe 1970-1971




LPS 163138




This product is no longer in stock

LP 16,51 €

There can be little more exciting or rewarding than listening to a band playing live and firing on all cylinders at the absolute peak of its powers, and the live performances presented here by Nucleus are no exception.

They capture the group in arguably its finest incarnation right at the start of its long career, exhibiting a staggeringly high level of musical discipline matched by an equally impressive ability to improvise and solo.

Nucleus began its long jazz-rock journey in 1969, when it was originally formed by trumpeter Ian Carr. They attracted a following after a successful performance at the Montreux International Festival in 1970, which led to the offer of a recording contract with Vertigo, and the release of several acclaimed albums. This release features the likes of John Marshall, Karl Jenkins (both later with Soft Machine) and legendary guitarist Chris Spedding.


  • Ian Carr - trumpet
  • Jeff Clyne - bass
  • Karl Jenkins - piano/sax/oboe
  • John Marshall - drums
  • Brian Smith - sax/flute
  • Chris Spedding - guitar


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Elastic Rock
  • A2. Stonescape/ Twisted Track
  • A6. 1916 / Persephone's Jive
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Song for the Bearded Lady
  • B2. Tangent
  • B3. We'll Talk About It Later
  • B4. Snakeship's Dream
  • B5. Hemisphere