Dinah Washington

Complete Recordings (JAZZ)

Complete Recordings View larger


Complete Recordings

Dinah Washington



PHX 125429



Complete Recordings

More details

CD 8,22 €


“Even though she's in the midst of the stellar soloists, Washington expertly works her supple voice throughout to remain the star attraction ... A fine disc with top. Arrangements by Quincy Jones.” (Stephen Cook)

This release presents all of the Dinah Washington selections from the monumental 1954 jam session on which she was backed by Clifford Brown, among many other stars. An instrumental track from the same session has been added as a bonus.

This CD offers practically all the material recorded in a splendid jam-session in front of an audience which took place in Los Angeles on August of 1954, featuring Clifford Brown, Clark Terry, Harold Land, Junior Mance, Max Roach and others. Includes eight standards, three of them (“You Go To My Head”, “Lover Come Back To Me”, and “I’ll Remember April”) in extensive versions with all the instrumentalists taking solos), and five versions more in line with what was habitual at that time, with special interventions of Brownie in "No More", Harold Land in "Darn That Dream", and Herb Geller in "Crazy He Calls Me".


  • Dinah Washington, vocals on all tracks, plus:
  • Clifford Brown, trumpet
  • Clark Terry, trumpet
  • Maynard Ferguson, trumpet
  • Herb Geller, alto sax
  • Harold Land, tenor sax
  • Junior Mance or Richie Powell, pianov
  • Keeter Betts or George Morrow , bass
  • Max Roach, drums

Recorded in Los Angeles, August 14, 1954.


  • 01. I've Got You Under My Skin
  • 02. No More
  • 03. Darn that Dream
  • 04. You Go To My Head
  • 05. Lover Come Back To Me
  • 06. Ballad Medley:
  • a) Alone Together
  • b) Summertime
  • c) Come Rain or Come Shine
  • 07. Crazy He Calls Me
  • 08. There Is No Greater Love
  • 09. I'll Remember April
  • 10. Ballad Medley (*) Bonus Track
  • a) My Funny Valentine
  • b) Don't Worry 'Bout Me
  • c) Bess, You is My Woman Now
  • d) It Might as Well Be Spring
  • Total time: 72:52 min.