Masahiko Satoh

Four Units - Japanese Jazz Men Series Vol. 3 (LTJC010)

Four Units - Japanese Jazz Men Series Vol. 3 View larger

Four Units - Japanese Jazz Men Series Vol. 3

Masahiko Satoh



LPS 165730




LP 22,30 €


Four Units is a Japanese jazz all star group. This concert was recorded in Tokyo on April 1969 and released the same year on Union records. On the first two long songs that open this album, Four Units and Dull Slumber, we can feel the influence of the avant-garde scene of US jazz (and in particular ESP Disk), without however the music sounding too "free".

A whole new vibe on the astonishing cover of Scarborough Fair, in a modal style, where the shadow of McCoy Tyner seems to hang over the piano. The next two tracks, Rainbow Trout and Black Bass, are still pretty much along the same line, sometimes oscillating towards hard bop. The album ends in a blaze of glory with a solo by Masahiko Togashi.


  • Akira Miyazawa - tenor sax. flute
  • Masahiko Sato - piano
  • Masahiko Togashi - drums
  • Yasui Arakawa - bass


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Four Units
  • A2. Dull Slumber
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Scarborough Fair
  • B2. Rainbow Trout
  • B3. Black Bass