Mathew Larkin Cassell

Pieces (OSR066)

Pieces View larger


Mathew Larkin Cassell

Out-Sider Music


LPS 165894




LP 22,30 €

Out-Sider present a reissue of Matthew Larkin Cassell's Pieces, originally released in 1977.

Originally from San Francisco, Matthew Larkin Cassell is a talented songwriter, vocalist, and multi-instrumentalist. During the '70s and '80s, Cassell fronted a trio in the Bay Area, opening for major acts like The Tubes and Sylvester. Playing a particular fusion of funk, R&B, soul-jazz, and '70s pop, he self-financed and released his first album, Pieces, in 1977.

Distributed only locally at the time, the album remained buried until it was discovered in the '00s by beat makers and crate diggers which led to some of the tracks being sampled and included on mixes by people like Kon & Amir, Madlib, and M.F. Doom. Reputed labels like Stones Throw and P-Vine reissued Casell's music at the same time that the original album was sought-after by funk collectors and reached outrageous prices.


  • Matthew L. Cassell - lead & background vocals, pianos, guitar
  • Gary E. Arluck - bass
  • James S. Hobson - drums


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Rendezvous
  • A2. Heaven
  • A3. Ecotez Moi
  • A4. You
  • A5. Beggin to Stay
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Holiday
  • B2. Another Day Gone
  • B3. One Night
  • B4. In My Life