Water Messages On Desert (RERVRRC28)

Water Messages On Desert View larger

Water Messages On Desert




LPS 166406




LP 16,51 €

A reissue of Roberto Musci and Giovanni Venosta's Water Messages On Desert Sand, originally released in 1987. Water Messages On Desert Sand was the very first sound creation from the Italian avant-garde duo of Roberto Musci and Giovanni Venosta. A classic work in the genre, released by Chris Cutler's Recommended Records in 1987.

Back in the mid-eighties, Musci and Venosta, both on sampler, synthesizer, guitar, piano, effects, and tapes were masters in overlaying and constructing rhythmic and harmonic pictures of transparent sound from electronic, acoustic, and documentary source, taking ethnic field recordings (from Africa, Indonesia, Asia, India) as their thematic center. Water Messages finds place in the realm of Eno and Byrne's My Life in the Bush of Ghosts (1981) but far more accomplished and developed. A rich moving and still very stimulating work and an essential purchase for anyone interested in adventurous modern art informed by ethnic music and sound explorations. In two words: highly recommended.


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Technowaltz
  • G. Venosta - Piano, Synthesizer [Akai S900, Emax]
  • Valentino De Santi - Synthesizer [Akai Systems]
  • Marco "Bill" Vecchi - Synthesizer [Emu Systems]
  • R. Musci - Synthesizer [Prophet 2002]
  • A2. Water Music
  • G. Venosta - Synthesizer [Dx7], Strings [Gopi-yantra]
  • R. Musci - Synthesizer [Syncoder], Steel Guitar
  • A3. Empty Boulevard
  • R. Musci - Acoustic Guitar
  • A4. Mechanic Soul Vs. Pathetic Ambient
  • G. Venosta - Synthesizer [DX7, Ob 8, Drumulator Sp12, Harmonizer]
  • A5. Volterra
  • G. Venosta - Synthesizer [DX7, Harmonizer]
  • R. Musci - Synthesizer [Prophet 5, Syncoder]
  • A6. Nexus On The Beach
  • Andrea Petrus - French Horn
  • Tiziano Tononi - Rainstick, Crotales, Temple Block, Cymbal
  • G. Venosta - Synthesizer [DX7, Prophet 2002]
  • R. Musc - Synthesizer [Emax]
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Ventiane
  • Sandro Cerino - Bass Clarinet, Bass Flute
  • Franchino Gabualdi - Oboe
  • G. Venosta, R. Musci - Synthesizer [Prophet 2002]
  • Daniele Cavallanti - Tenor Saxophone
  • B2. Malangaan
  • G. Venosta - Synthesizer [DX7, Drumulator Sp12]
  • R. Musci - Synthesizer [Ob 8, Syncoder]
  • B3. Digital Ketjak
  • R. Musci - Synthesizer [Syncoder]
  • B4. Walter's Reggae
  • Walter Prati - Double Bass
  • G. Venosta - piano
  • R. Musci - Synthesizer [Prophet 2000]
  • B5. Old Time Religion
  • R. Musci - Electric Piano, Acoustic Guitar, Percussion, Synthesizer [Syncoder]
  • G. Venosta - piano
  • Sandro Cerino - soprano sax