John Zorn

The Ninth Circle (TZ 8385)

The Ninth Circle View larger

The Ninth Circle

John Zorn



TZA 166636

TZ 8385



CD 16,51 €


The latest recording by Zorn’s newest ensemble Chaos Magick is a suite inspired by the ancient Greek legend of Orpheus and Eurydice.

Combining contemporary classical with jazz, funk, rock, blues, film soundtrack, noise improvisation and so much more this is a wild and evocative trip thru Hell and back.

Tight conductions, complex melodies, burning solos, telepathic group interaction and all the wit, humor, joy and mystery that one has come to expect from Zorn’s dedicated and passionate crew of virtuosi are in abundant display in this beautiful and unique rendering of the classic Orpheus legend.


  • John Zorn - composer
  • Brian Marsella - Fender Rhodes, piano, Mellotron
  • John Medeski - organ
  • Kenny Grohowski - drums
  • Matt Hollenberg - guitar

Recorded in New York, on July 1-3, 2021


  • 01. Canto I
  • 02. Canto II
  • 03. Canto III
  • 04. Canto IV
  • 05. Canto V
  • 06. Canto VI
  • 07. Canto VII
  • 08. Canto VIII
  • 09. Canto IX