Mankunku Quartet

Yakhal' Inkomo (Limited Edition) (MRBLP220)

Yakhal' Inkomo (Limited Half-Speed Master) View larger


Yakhal' Inkomo (Limited Edition)

Mankunku Quartet

Mr Bongo Records


LPS 166644




LP 23,95 €

On July 23, 1968, a now-legendary recording session took place in Johannesburg, South Africa, one that would ultimately prove a defining moment in the country's Jazz history and development.

Led by tenor saxophonist Winston Mankunku Ngozi, a quartet that included pianist Lionel Pillay, bassist Agrippa Magwaza, and drummer Early Mabuza would record the album Yakhal' Inkomo. Comprising two originals of Mankunku's—the title track "Yakhal' Inkomo" and "Dedication (For Daddy Trane and Brother Shorter)"—as well as John Coltrane's "Bessie's Blues" and Horace Silver's "Doodlin,'" the album would become one of the most important Jazz albums of South Africa, arguably the most important.


  • Winston "Mankunku" Ngosi - tenor sax
  • Lionel Pillay - piano
  • Agrippa Magwaza - bass
  • Early Mabuza - drums


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Yakhal' Inkomo
  • A2. Dedication (To Daddy Trane And Brother Shorter)
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Doodlin'
  • B2. Bessie's Blues