Peter Brotzmann

Ultraman vs. Alien Metron (CvsDLP002)

Ultraman vs. Alien Metron View larger

Ultraman vs. Alien Metron

Peter Brotzmann

Corbett vs. Dempsey


LPS 167703




LP 24,78 €

12 inch, one-sided LP

In the first years of it's existence, starting in 1997, the Peter Brötzmann Chicago Tentet worked as a collective, inviting all and any of it's participants to contribute compositions to the band's repertoire. Eventually, the Tentet would jettison scores and pre-planned structures altogether, opting for free improvisation, but on their early tours and initial recordings they played pieces written by the various band members.

A marathon set of summer studio sessions in 2002, just off a U.S. tour, yielded two CDs for Okka Disk, A Short Visit to Nowhere and Broken English. Of two Mars Williams compositions from the session, one was recorded but never issued... until now.

Featuring the original lineup of the band, which combined seven stellar Chicagoans - Williams, Ken Vandermark, Jeb Bishop, Fred Lonberg-Holm, Kent Kessler, Michael Zerang, and Hamid Drake - with Mats Gustafsson, Joe McPhee, and the band's namesake, the Peter Brötzmann Chicago Tentet was a sensationally versatile free music ensemble, capable of going into all sorts of unexpected territory.


  • Peter Brötzmann (tenor saxophone)
  • Mars Williams (tenor and soprano saxophones)
  • Ken Vandermark (baritone saxophone)
  • Mats Gustafsson (alto saxophone)
  • Joe McPhee (valve trombone)
  • Jeb Bishop (trombone)
  • Fred Lonberg-Holm (cello)
  • Kent Kessler (bass)
  • Michael Zerang (drums)
  • Hamid Drake (drums)

Recorded at Airwave Studios, Chicago, July 3 & 4, 2002


  • Ultraman vs. Alien Metron ........ 18:25