The Ensemble Al-Salaam

The Sojourner (PCD-94097)

New The Sojourner View larger

The Sojourner

The Ensemble Al-Salaam



GEN 168836




CD 24,78 €

mini LP replica with OBI

Japanese label P-Vine sure know how to pick out the essential spiritual jazz reissues. This is another gold standard that came originally on Strata East in 1974 by the legendary Ensemble Al-Salaam. Vocals feature throughout and often soar to the highest of heights and make it a charismatic album. Sample hounds and hip hop lovers might well recognise the track 'Optimystical' which has been pillaged by Detroit great Andres before now.


  • Khaliq Abdul Al Rouf - (alto, soprano & tenor sax, alto flute)
  • Leroy Seals - (Fender bass, vocals)
  • Andrei Strobert - (drums)
  • Mashujaa Aliye Salamu - (electric guitar)
  • Bevin Turnbull - (piano, vocals)
  • Beatrice Parker - (vocals)


  • 01. Music Is Nothing But A Prayer
  • 02. Ecstacy
  • 03. The Sojourner
  • 04. Circles
  • 05. Traces Of Trane
  • 06. Vibration Love Call
  • 07. Malika
  • 08. Optimystical
  • 09. Peace (Salaam)