John Taylor

Fragment (JIB-32-S-CD)

New Fragment View larger



John Taylor

Jazz In Britain


DRJ 169183




This product is no longer in stock

CD 14,03 €


Blistering work from the British jazz scene of the mid 70s – a moment when there was still plenty of exciting music going on, if you just knew where to look! Pianist John Taylor works here with a fair bit of Fender Rhodes – using the instrument in these long blocks of sound that are superbly bumped forward by the bass of Chris Laurence and drums of Tony Levin – then given all these fantastic flourishes by Kenny Wheeler on trumpet and flugelhorn, Chris Pyne on trombone, and Stan Sulzman on tenor, soprano, and flute – all players who bring a stunning amount of color into the music – opening up the tunes with these really strong currents of soul! The vibe is a bit like some of the electric work by Nucleus – but more jazz, less progresive


  • John Taylor – (piano, electric piano)
  • Ken Wheeler – (trumpet, flugelhorn)
  • Stan Sulzmann – (tenor & soprano saxophone, flute)
  • Chris Pyne – (trombone)
  • Chris Laurence – (bass)
  • Tony Levin – (drums, percussion)

Recorded live on Capital Radio, London. January 1975


  • 01. Interfusion
  • 02. Fragment
  • 03. The other One /1
  • 04. piano solos
  • - Happy Landing
  • - Easter Eve
  • 05. The Other One /2