The Shaolin Afronauts

The Fundamental Nature of Being Pt. 2 (FSRLP136)

The Fundamental Nature of Being Pt. 2 View larger

The Fundamental Nature of Being Pt. 2

The Shaolin Afronauts

Freestyle Records


LPS 170660




LP 23,95 €

The mysterious afro-soul of theShaolin Afronautsfirst echoed across the dancefloors of Australia in early 2008, captivating audiences with a highly evolved and unique approach to avant-garde soul music matched with an improvisational pedigree that immediately set them apart from their peers. In the almostfifteen years since the ensemble's debut they have released three albums on Freestyle Records and toured across Australia and around the world.

After an extended hiatus punctuated by rare live performances, The Shaolin Afronauts return with'The Fundamental Nature of Being', an epicfive album release that expands the sonic vision of the ensemble to towering new heights of burning afro-funk alongside esoteric and ethereal new sonic excursions. This expanded musical journey further explores the wide spectrum of the band's musical identity – with each of thefive parts designed as both standalone records, while also offering a singular listening journey across the band's expansive musical world.


  • SIDE A
  • A1 The Simien Fox
  • A2 High Noises
  • A3 Inside the Flame Burns Brightly Still
  • SIDE B
  • B1 Salt Flat Muscle
  • B2 Sugar John
  • B3 Hall of Bright Carvings