Graham Collier

Down Another Road - Stockholm Jazz Days´69 (MOD005CD)

Down Another Road - Stockholm Jazz Days´69 View larger

Down Another Road - Stockholm Jazz Days´69

Graham Collier

My Only Desire


DRJ 170979




CD 12,38 €

CD packaged in 'mini-LP' gatefold sleeve

Previously unreleased recording of bassist/composer Graham Collier's seminal British jazz album 'Down Another Road' recorded live in 1969 at Stockholm's Jazz Day festival, his all-star sextet includes jazz heavyweights Harry Beckett, Stan Sulzmann, Karl Jenkins and John Marshall.

Since it's release in 1969 on Fontana, 'Down Another Road' has become a cornerstone of British jazz, with the LP now a much sought-after rarity that regularly exchanges hands for over £200. It's considered the revered composer Collier's greatest album by many of its fans, thanks to its highly melodic, almost pop-like themes and irresistible '60s groove, spurred on by the on-point drumming of Soft Machine/Nucleus drummer John Marshall.

To make 'Down Another Road @ Stockholm Jazz Days '69' even more special, the abstract track "Danish Blue" has been replaced by the similarly epic free jazz composition "Burblings for Bob", which is released here for the first time. All the other tracks that everyone loves are present and correct - "Lullaby for a Lonely Child", "Aberdeen Angus", "Molewrench" etc. but with a rawer live feel to them, longer arrangements and more soloing - with the band in scintillating form.


  • Graham Collier - (double bass)
  • Harry Beckett - (trumpet, flugelhorn)
  • Nick Evans - (trombone)
  • Stan Sulzmann - (tenor and alto saxophone)
  • Karl Jenkins - (oboe, piano)
  • John Marshall - (drums)


  • 01. .Burblings For Bob
  • 02. Burblings For Bob - Outro
  • 03. Molewrench - Intro
  • 04. Molewrench
  • 05. Lullaby For A Lonely Child - Intro
  • 06. Lullaby For A Lonely Child
  • 07. Down Another Road - Intro
  • 08. Down Another Road
  • 09. The Barley Mow - Intro
  • 10. The Barley Mow
  • 11. Aberdeen Angus - Intro
  • 12. Aberdeen Angus