Eje Thelin

Eje Thelin Trio 1965 with Bengt Hallberg (DRCD 423)

Eje Thelin Trio 1965 with Bengt Hallberg View larger

Eje Thelin Trio 1965 with Bengt Hallberg

Eje Thelin



DRA 171590

DRCD 423



Currently unavailable

CD 12,38 €


These cats may be wearing tuxedos on the cover, but the sound within is anything but formal -- as the record features the work of Swedish trombonist Eje Thelin at a really amazing point in his career!

Thelin is an overlooked genius -- a sound-shaper on a par with JJ Johnson at his mature best -- a point that Eje maybe hit before JJ, as you'll hear on these recordings -- which are a masterpiece of all the tonal colors and personal inflections that the trombone can deliver -- quite modern in conception, but still swinging, and not as outside as some of Thelin's material from the end of the 60s. The group throughout features Bengt Hallberg on piano (and two of the numbers just feature his trio) -- and bass from Roman Dylag and drums from Rune Carlsson. All material is from two different live performances from 1965, never issued.


  • Roman Dylag - (bass)
  • Rune Carlsson - (drums)
  • Bengt Hallberg - (piano)
  • Eje Thelin - (trombone

[01 to 04] recorded "live" at Gyllene Cirkeln (The Golden Circle), Stockholm, January 22, 1965.

[05 to 08] recorded "in concert" at Högre Allmänna Läroverket, Borlänge, March 23, 1965.


  • 01 Not At All
  • 02 My Favourite Things
  • 03 Turning Around
  • 04 Israel
  • 05 Let Me Out
  • 06 Jay Jay
  • 07 Dance, Dance Only With Me
  • 08 It's Only a Paper Moon