John Swana

Bright Moments (CRISS 1301 CD)

Bright Moments Ver más grande


Bright Moments

John Swana

Criss Cross


CRI 117611




Bright Moments

Más detalles

Este producto ya no está disponible

CD 12,39 €

Personnel: John Swana (tp, flhn), Eric Alexander, Grant Stewart (ts); David Hazeltine (p), Peter Washington (b) & Kenny Washington (d).

Tracks: 1. Wilbert, 2. Chillin’ Out, 3. Road Trippin’, 4. Ferris Wheel, 5. Shrack’s Corner II, 6. Bright Moments, 7. Inevitable Encounter, 8. Everything I Have Is Yours, 9. KD, 10. Open Highway, 11. Shrack’s Corner I.

Recorded: April 7, 2007 at Systems Two Studios, Brooklyn, New York.

Total Time: 73.00 mins.

For his tenth Criss Cross date as a leader, trumpeter John Swana presents his first twin-tenor sextet.
Swana, tenor saxophonists Eric Alexander and Grant Stewart, pianist David Hazeltine, bassist Peter Washington and drummer Kenny Washington have intersected on many occasions, but never together in a group. The result is an effortless blend of ingrained chemistry with the sound of surprise inherent in first encounters.
"Bright Moments" focuses largely on original material with a couple of standards thrown in for good measure; but the writing is so captivating, the performances so attention-grabbing, that it feels like an album of well-known songs. The ever-inventive Swana creates here challenging contexts for his sextet, with an emphasis on hard-swinging and refined balladry.