Ray Charles

Genious + Soul : Jazz (21341)

Genious + Soul : Jazz Ver más grande

Genious + Soul : Jazz

Ray Charles

Masterworks Singles


MSG 141234




Genious + Soul : Jazz

Más detalles

CD 5,78 €


2 LPs ON 1 CD

This release presents Ray Charles’ earliest collaborations with two of the most celebrated arrangers in jazz history, Quincy Jones and Ralph Burns. Charles’ performances on Jones’ various arrangements are particularly noteworthy, as is their magnificent interplay when Ray joins the Quincy Jones orchestra for the first half of the LP "The Genius of Ray Charles". This set includes the complete original albums: "Genius + Soul = Jazz" (Impulse AS2), and "The Genius of Ray Charles" (Atlantic LP1312). Featured throughout these recordings are such important jazz soloists as Clark Terry, Thad Jones, Paul Gonsalves, Zoot Sims, Urbie Green, Jimmy Cleveland, Budd Johnson, and Roy Haynes, among many others.


RAY CHARLES, vocals & organ on all tracks, plus:


(1-3) & (7-9): Clark Terry, Thad Jones, Joe Newman, Phil Guilbeau, Snooky Young (tp),
Henry Coker, Urbie Green, Al Grey, Benny Powell (tb), Marshall Royal, Frank Wess (as),
Frank Foster, Billy Mitchell (ts), Charlie Fowlkes (bar), Freddie Green (g), Eddie Jones (b),
Sonny Payne (d). New York, December 26, 1960.

(4-6) & (10): Clark Terry, Joe Wilder, John Frosk, Phil Guilbeau, Jimmy Nottingham (tp),
Jimmy Cleveland, Urbie Green, Keg Johnson, George Matthews (tb), George Dorsey, Earl Warren (as),
Budd Johnson, Seldon Powell (ts), Haywood Henry (bar), Sam Herman (g), Joe Benjamin (b),
Roy Haynes (d). New York, December 27, 1960.


(11-16): Ray Charles with the Quincy Jones Orchestra:
Marcus Belgrave, John Hunt, Clark Terry, Ernie Royal, Joe Newman, Snooky Young (tp),
Melba Liston, Al Grey, Quentin Jackson, Tom Mitchell (tb), Marshall Royal, Frank Wess (as),
David "Fathead" Newman, Paul Gonsalves, Zoot Sims (ts on 11, 13 & 16 only),
Billy Mitchell (ts on 12, 14 & 15 only), Bennie “Hank” Crawford, Charlie Fowlkes (bar),
Freddie Green (g), Edgar Willis, Eddie Jones (b), Teagle Fleming, Charlie Persip (d),
Quincy Jones (cond). New York, June 23, 1959.

(17-22): Bob Brookmeyer (v-tb), Allen Hanlon (g), Wendell Marshall (b), Ted Sommer (d),
plus woodwinds & strings, Ralph Burns (arr, cond). New York, May 6, 1959.
Arrangements by QUINCY JONES (tracks 11 & 16) / RALPH BURNS (tracks 13 & 17-22)
AL COHN (track 15) / JOHNNY ACEA (track 14) & ERNIE WILKINS (track 12)


01. From The Heart
02. I’Ve Got News For You
03. Moanin’
04. Let’S Go
05. One Mint Julep
06. I’M Gonna Move To The Outskirts Of Town
07. Stompin’ Room Only
08. Mister C
09. Strike Up The Band
10. Birth Of The Blues
11. Let The Good Times Roll
12. It Had To Be You
13. Alexander’S Ragtime Band
14. Two Years Of Torture
15. When Your Lover Has Gone
16. Deed I Do
17. Just For A Thrill
18. You Won’T Let Me Go
19. Tell Me You’Ll Wait For Me
20. Don’T Let The Sun Catch You Cryin’
21. Am I Blue
22. Come Rain Or Come Shine

Total Time: 75:22 min