Paul Bley

When Will The Blues Leave (ECM 2642)

When Will The Blues Leave Ver más grande

When Will The Blues Leave

Paul Bley



ECM 156802

ECM 2642



CD 14,03 €

In 1999, a year after recording the splendid reunion album Not Two, Not One, Paul Bley’s highly innovative trio with Gary Peacock and Paul Motian took to the road with concerts on both sides of the Atlantic. When Will The Blues Leave documents a terrific performance at the Aula Magna di Trevano in Switzerland. Included here, alongside the angular freebop Ornette Coleman title track, are Paul Bley’s “Mazatlan”, brimming over with energy, Gary Peacock’s evergreen “Moor”, Gershwin’s tender “I Loves You Porgy” and much more. All played with the subtlety of master improvisers, recasting the music in every moment.


  • PAUL BLEY, piano
  • GARY PEACOCK, bass
  • PAUL MOTIAN, drums

Recorded live in Lugano, Switzerland, March 1999.


  • 01. Mazatlan
  • 02. Flam
  • 03. Told You So
  • 04. Moor
  • 05. Longer
  • 06. Dialogue Amou
  • 07. When Will The Blues Leave
  • 08. I Loves You Porgy