Kenny Garrett

Sounds From The Ancestors (MAC 1180 LP)

Sounds From The Ancestors Ver más grande

Sounds From The Ancestors

Kenny Garrett

Mack Avenue


LPS 164908

MAC 1180 LP



LP 28,91 €



Composer/saxophonist Kenny Garrett emerged as a distinctive voice on the national scene in 1978 with an undisputed aptitude for emotive melodic phrasing that led him to collaborations with Woody Shaw, Freddie Hubbard, Art Blakey and Miles Davis. With Sounds from the Ancestors, Garrett remembers the spirit of the sounds of African ancestors from church services, recited prayers, songs from the work fields, Yoruban chants and African drums, alongside tributes to Roy Hargrove and two drum pioneers — Art Blakey and Tony Allen — who all looked into the past to influence the future sound and evolution of jazz.


  • Kenny Garrett - alto sax, vocals
  • Vernell Brown, Jr - piano
  • Corcoran Holt - bass
  • Ronald Bruner - drums
  • Rudy Bird - percussion
  • Also featuring:
  • Lenny White - snare
  • Johnny Mercier - `piano, organ
  • Maurice Brown - trumpet
  • Pedrito Martinez - vocals, congas
  • Dreiser Durruthy - bata, vocals
  • Dwight Trible - vocals
  • Jean Baylor - vocals
  • Linny Smith - vocals
  • Chris Ashley Anthony - vocals
  • Sheherazade Holman - vocals


  • SIDE A
  • A1. It’s Time to Come Home
  • A2. Hargrove
  • SIDE B
  • B1. When the Days Were Different
  • B2. For Art’s Sake
  • SIDE C
  • C1. What Was That?
  • C2. Soldiers of the Fields / Soldats des Champs
  • SIDE D
  • D1. Sounds from the Ancestors
  • D2. It’s Time to Come Home