Teddy Wilson

Teddy Wilson Trio with Jo Jones - Complete Studio (JD 008)

Teddy Wilson Trio with Jo Jones - Complete Studio Agrandir l'image

Teddy Wilson Trio with Jo Jones - Complete Studio

Teddy Wilson

Jazz Dynamics


DYN 138635

JD 008



Teddy Wilson Trio with Jo Jones - Complete Studio

Plus de détails

Ce produit n'est plus en stock

CD 15,69 €


Although they had worked and recorded together since the mid-thirties, pianist Teddy Wilson and drummer Jo Jones only recorded in the trio format during the mid-1950s. All of their studio trio works are contained here. Included on this set are the following original albums: For Quiet Lovers (Verve MGV2029), I Got Rhythm (Verve MGV2073), The Impeccable Mr. Wilson (Verve MGV8272) & These Tunes Remind Me of You (Verve MGV8299)! Their studio trio collaborations were recorded in New York during three extended sessions on January 1, 1955, March 5, 1956, and September 13, 1956. Milt Hinton, Gene Ramey, and Al Lucas alternated on bass. The September 20, 1954 studio session added here as a bonus at the end of CD3 is a strange experiment. Instead of the usual piano/bass/drums format, it includes Benny Carter’s alto sax in place of the bass, creating an authentic three-star line-up with each musician enjoying an equal share of solo space.


(piano), JO JONES (drums) on all tracks, with:

CD 1 [1-12]: MILT HINTON (bass). New York, January 1, 1955.
CD 1 [13-23] & CD 2 [1-2]: GENE RAMEY (bass). New York, March 5, 1956.
CD 2 [3-18] & CD 3 [1-8]: AL LUCAS (bass). New York, September 13, 1956.

Bonus session (CD 3, 9-16): BENNY CARTER TRIO:
BENNY CARTER, alto sax, TEDDY WILSON, piano & JO JONES, drums
New York, September 20, 1954.
All original sessions produced by Norman Granz.

CD 1:Total Time: 75:27 min
01 Blues For the Oldest Profession
02 It Had to Be You
03 You Took Advantage of Me
04 Three Little Words
05 If I Had You
06 Who’s Sorry Now?
07 The Birth of the Blues
08 When Your Lover Has Gone
09 Moonlight On the Ganges
10 April In Paris
11 Hallelujah
12 Get Out Of Town
13 Stompin’ At the Savoy
14 Say It Isn’t So
15 All of Me
16 Stars Fell On Alabama
17 I Got Rhythm
18 On The Sunny Side of the Street
19 Sweet Georgia Brown
20 As Time Goes By
21 Smiles
22 When Your Lover Has Gone
23 Limehouse Blues

CD 2: Total Time: 66:00 min
01 Blues For Daryl
02 You’re Driving Me Crazy
03 I Want to Be Happy
04 Ain’t Misbehavin’
05. Honeysuckle Rose
06 Fine and Dandy
07 Sweet Lorraine
08 I Found A New Baby
09 It’s The Talk of the Town
10 Laura
11 Undecided
12 Time on My Hands
13 Who Cares?
14 Love Is Here To Stay
15 When You’re Smiling
16 Imagination
17 The World Is Waiting For the Sunrise
18 I’ve Got The World on A String

CD 3:Total Time: 67:07 min
01 Whispering
02 Poor Butterfly
03 Rosetta
04 Basin Street Blues
05 How Deep Is The Ocean?
06 Just One of Those Things
07 Have You Met Miss Jones?
08 It Don’t Mean A Thing
09 Little Girl Blue
10 June In January
11 Jeepers Creepers
12 Rosetta
13 The Birth Of The Blues
14 When Your Lover Has Gone
15 The Moon Is Low
16 This Love of Mine