Stan Hasselgard

California Sessions (DRCD 409)

California Sessions Agrandir l'image

California Sessions

Stan Hasselgard



DRA 126187

DRCD 409



California Sessions

Plus de détails

CD 9,88 €

The legendary Swedish clarinettist Åke "Stan" Hasselgard (1922-48) lived during the fall of 1947 and spring of 1948 in Hollywood, where he befriended and played with many well-known musician. It was also here he first recorded "Swedish Pastry" at a sextet session for the Capitol record company. "California Sessions" contain "live" and studio recordings from this period, including some numbers that are being presented for the first time on CD. Among them is a tune with vibraphonist Johnny White, where Hasselgard not only plays clarinet but also sings - with a parody of a Swedish accent. We can also hear him together with singer Frances Wayne, singer and valve-trombonist Billy Eckstine, guitarist Barney Kessel, tenor saxophonist Wardell Gray, vibraphonist Red Norvo - and three of the finest pianists of the time: Arnold Ross, Dodo Marmarosa and Jimmy Rowles.

Collective personnel:

Stan Hasselgard carinet & vocal #
Johnny White vibraphone & piano
Red Norvo Vibraphone
Arnold Ross, Jimmie Rowles,  Dodo Marmarosa piano
Wardell Gray tenor sax
Guy Scalisi, Barney Kessel, Al Hendrickson guitar
Rollo Garberg, Harry Babasin, Billy Hadnott,  bass
Frank Bode, Jackie Mills, Don Lamond drums
Frances Wayne & Billy Eckstine vocal.

Recorded between 1947/1948


01. Gotta Have More Money
02. Hortense
03. Flying Foam
04. Gone After You
05. Swedish Pastry
06. Sweet And Hop Mop
07. Who Sleeps
08. I'll Never Be The Same
09. Indiana
10. Swedish Pastry
11. Greetings To Sweden
12. One O'clock Jump
13. C Jam Blues
14. I Never Loved Anyone
15. What Is This Thing Called Love
16. Jam Session At Jubilee
17. Who's Sorry Now
18. One O'clock Jump
19. Please Don't Talk About Me When I'm Gone
20. Jelly
21. Blues For Billy
22. Just You, Just Me
23. Sweet And Hot Mop
24. I'll Never Be The Same