Urbie Green

Big Band: Complete 1956-1959 Recordings (LHJ 10309)

Big Band: Complete 1956-1959 Recordings View larger

Big Band: Complete 1956-1959 Recordings

Urbie Green

Lone Hill Jazz


LHJ 116661

LHJ 10309



Big Band: Complete 1956-1959 Recordings

More details

CD 12,38 €

4 LPs ON 2 CDs
All of the 1950s recordings by the fabolous Urbie Green Big Band !. The last two albums appear here for the first time ever on CD
Includes the albums: All About Urbie Green,  Let's Face the Music and Dance, Jimmy McHugh in Hi-Fi, and The Message

Nick Travis, Doc Severinsen, Bernie Glow (tp)
Eddie Bert, Billy Byers, Lou McGarity (tb)
Al Cohn, Hal McKusick, Rolf Kuhn, Gene Quill, Pepper Adams, Sol Schlinger (saxes)
Dave McKenna, Hank Jones (p)
Barry Galbraith (g)
Vinnie Burke, Teddy Kotick, Milt Hinton (b)
Osie Johnson, George Wettling, Nick Stabulas (d), among others.

CD 1
(1-11) All About Urbie Green and His Big Band (Originally ABC-Paramount)
Recorded in New York, July-August 1956.
(12-23) Let's Face the Music and Dance (Originally Vic)
Recorded in New York, Dec. 20-23, 1957.

CD 2:
(1-10) Jimmy McHugh in Hi-Fi (Originally Vic)
Recorded in New York, May 5-12, 1958.
(11-19) The Message (Originally Fres Sound)
Recorded in New York, Feb. 2-3, 1959.

CD 1:

01. Sleep
02. Soft Winds
03. With The Wind And The Rain In Your Hair
04. I Ain't Got Nobody
05. Stella By Starlight
06. Little John
07. Home, Cradle Of Happiness
08. Cherokee
09. 'Round Midnight
10. Springsville
11. Plain Bill From Bluesville
12. Please
13. The Moon Is Low
14. Baby, Won't You Please Come Home?
15. It Must Be True
16. Show Me The Way To Go Home
17. Dinner For One, Please James
18. When You're Smiling
19. You're My Everything
20. Let's Face The Music And Dance
21. Love Walked In,
22. I Won't Dance
23. That Old Gang Of Mine.

Total Time: 75:35 mins.

CD 2:
01. Louella
02. Cuban Love Song
03. Medley Of McHugh's Hits 1
04. Rock-A-Bye Bluebird
05. I Feel A Song Coming On
06. I Found Myself A Guy
07. Diga Diga Doo
08. I Must Have That Man
09. Medley Of McHugh's Hits 2
10. Goodbye Blues
11. The Message
12. I'm Confessin'
13. But Not For Me
14. Goo-dnight My Love
15. One O'clock Jump
16. I'm Through With Love
17. Whirlaway
18. I'm In A Dancing Mood
19. Early Autumn.
Total Time: 74:12 mins..