Ella Fitzgerald

Sings the Cole Porter Song Book (EJC 55454)

Sings the Cole Porter Song Book View larger

Sings the Cole Porter Song Book

Ella Fitzgerald

Essential Jazz Classics


EJC 122688

EJC 55454



Sings the Cole Porter Song Book

More details

CD 9,08 €


This edition presents the complete classic double album Ella Fitzgerald Sings The Cole Porter Song Book.(Verve MGV4001-2) The first of the celebrated song books recorded by Ella and one of the best vocal jazz albums ever made, the Cole Porter Song Book was inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame in 2000, which honors recordings that have “qualitative or historical significance”. In 2003, it was one of 50 recordings chosen by the Library of Congress in Washington to be added to the National Recording Registry. A live version of Love for Sale from the same period has been added as a bonus track.


ELLA FITZGERALD, vocals on all tracks
Orchestra conducted and arranged by Budy Bregman

Collective personnel:
Pete Candoli, Hary “Swets” Edison, Maynard Ferguson, Conrad Gozo (tp),
Milt Bernhart , Joe Howard , Lloyd Ulyate (tb), George Roberts (b-tb)
Herb Geler, Bud Shank (as), Bob Cooper, Ted Nash (ts), Chuck Gentry (bar)
Paul Smith (p), Barney Kesel (g), Joe Mondragon (b), Alvin Stoler (d).
Los Angeles, February 7-9 & March 27, 1956.

Bonus Track [CD2, 20]: Ella Fitzgerald (vcl), Don Abney (p), Herb Ellis (g), Ray Brown (b),
Jo Jones (d). Konserthuset, Stockholm, April 29, 1957.

All composition by COLE PORTER

CD 1 (Total Time: 53:52):

01. All Through The Night
02. Anything Goes
03. Miss Otis Regrets
04. Too Darn Hot
05. In The Still Of The Night
06. I Get A Kick Out Of You
07. Do I Love You?
08. I'm Always True To You, In My Fashion
09. Let's Do It (Let's Fall In Love)
10. Just One Of Those Things
11. Ev'ry Time We Say Goodbye
12. All Of You
13. Begin The Beguine
14 Get Out Of Town
15. I Am In Love
16 From This Moment On

CD 2: (Total Time: 73:28)

01. I Love Paris
02. You Do Something To Me
03. Ridin' High
04. Easy To Love
05. It's All Right With Me
06. Why Can't You Behave?
07. What Is This Thing Called Love?
08. You're The Top
09. Love For Sale
10. It's De-Lovely
11. Night And Day
12. Ace In The Hole
13. So In Love
14. I've Got You Under My Skin
15. I Concentrate On You
16. Don't Fence Me In
17. You're The Top (alt tk)
18. I Concentrate On You (Alt Tk)
19. Let's Do It (Let's Fall In Love) (Alt Tk)
20. Love For Sale (Live)*