Paul Motian

Lost in a Dream (ECM 2128)

Lost in a Dream View larger

Lost in a Dream

Paul Motian



ECM 122909

ECM 2128



Lost in a Dream

More details

CD 14,03 €

Birth of a great new band, captured live at New York’s celebrated Village Vanguard, with repertoire emphasizing Paul Motian’s wonderful ballad writing. New Motian tunes are juxtaposed with “Bird Song” (from “Tati”) and “Drum Music” and “Abacus” (first heard on Paul’s now legendary album “Le Voyage”). A free exploration of Irving Berlin’s “Be Careful It’s My Heart” completes a programme distinguished by gloriously supple playing from all three participants who are in tune at a high level. Or, as the New York Times noted, reviewing the concerts from which this album was drawn: “The accumulated wisdom within the band was clear.”


  • CHRIS POTTER, tenor saxophone
  • JASON MORAN, piano
  • PAUL MOTIAN, drums

Recorded February 2009


  • 01. Mode VI
  • 02. Casino
  • 03. Lost In A Dream
  • 04. Blue Midnight
  • 05. Be Careful It's My Heart
  • 06. Birdsong
  • 07. Ten
  • 08. Drum Music
  • 09. Abacus
  • 10. Cathedral Song