Akira Ishikawa

Back To Rhythm (MRBLP191)

Back To Rhythm View larger

Back To Rhythm

Akira Ishikawa

Mr Bongo Records


LPS 163608




LP 24,78 €

Originally released in 1975, Back To Rhythm is one of the crowning glories of Akira Ishikawa's glittering career. The Japanese drummer turned his hand to countless wonderful records over his career, but this one was surely one of the best. Mr Bongo seem to think so, and they're giving it a proper reissue treatment. There are funk breaks galore embedded in this joyously upbeat, irresistibly groovy sound, where the horns parp with clarity and the guitar licks cartwheel through airy mixes. Managing to be both fulsome and loud without coming over too heavy, Ishikawa's sprightly take on instrumental funk has never sounded better than on this release.


  • Akira Ishikawa - drums, vocals, african percussion
  • Masaoki Terakawa - bass
  • Kiyoshi Sugimoto, Takao Naoi, Tsunehide Matsuki - guitar
  • Hiromasa Suzuki - synthetizer
  • Takeru Muraoka, Masao Suzuki - saxophone
  • Eiji Arai - trombone
  • Koji Hatori - trumpet
  • Larry Sunaga - percussion

Recorded January 13, 15, 16 and 20, 1975


  • SIDE A
  • A1. I've Got To Use My Imagination
  • A2. Bongo Rock
  • A3. Do It Til You're Satisfied
  • A4. Hey Jude
  • A5. El Condor Pasa
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Pick Up The Pieces
  • B2. Love Is The Answer
  • B3. I Shot The Sheriff
  • B4. Let's Start
  • B5. Boogie On Raggae Woman