Sun Ra

Super-Sonic Jazz (DMOO005)

Super-Sonic Jazz View larger

Super-Sonic Jazz

Sun Ra

Destination Moon


LPS 165350




LP 16,51 €

Limited Edition TO 500 Copies

Individually Numbered On Clear Vinyl!

Despite the futurism that the title of the set might imply, the material on this LP is actually some of Sun Ra's earliest, and dates back to the years when the Arkestra was first beginning to make itself heard in Chicago.

That doesn't stop the material from being amazing, though, as these prime early tracks really show how strong Ra's vision was, even when it was being applied to material that might look more simple on the surface.


  • John Gilmore - tenor sax
  • James Sca
  • Williams Cochran - drums
  • Julian Priester - trombone
  • Pat Patrick - alto & baritone sax
  • Jim Herndon - tympani , Timbali
  • Victor Sproles - bass
  • Sun Ra - piano
  • Charles Davis - Baritone
  • Robert Barry - drums
  • Art Hoyle - trumpet
  • Wilburn Green - electronic bass


  • SIDE A
  • A1. India
  • A2. Sunology
  • A3. Advice To Medics
  • A4. Super Blonde
  • A5. Soft Talk
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Kingdom Of Not
  • B2. Portrait Of The Living Sky
  • B3. Blues At Midnight
  • B4. El Is A Sound Of Joy
  • B5. Springtime In Chicago
  • B6. Medicine For A Nightmare