Spirits Rejoice

African Spaces (Limited Edition) (MM121)

African Spaces (Limited Edition) View larger


African Spaces (Limited Edition)

Spirits Rejoice



LPS 165690




LP 24,78 €

A soulful set of fusion from the South African scene of the 70s – a record that's a lot more electric overall than some of the others we know from the time – served up by a youthful group that's brimming over with power! The core of the set is awash in electric bass, guitar, and keyboard lines – the latter played by Mervyn Africa with a great mix of rhythmic currents and more spacious modes – and the set features some especially nice tenor and soprano sax lines from Duke Makasi, who soars next to two other trumpets in the frontline, in a way that makes the whole record sparkle with a lot of joy! The rhythms change up in all these wonderful ways – and the record almost has a James Mason vibe at times, especially on the cuts that bring in vocals by Felicia Marian or Russell Herman. And like James Mason, there's a wonderful blend here of electric jazz and soul – all infused with a very positive spirit.


  • Mervyn Africa - piano, organ, vibes
  • Russell Herman - electric guitar
  • Sipho Gumede - electric bass, percussion
  • Gilbert Mathews - drums, percussion
  • Duke Makasi - tenor & soprano sax
  • George Tyefumani - trumpet
  • Temba Mehlomakulu - trombone, trumpet
  • Felicia Marian - vocals
  • Russell Herman - vocals


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Joy
  • A2. Standing Here
  • A3. Savage Dance & African Spaces
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Mulberry Funk
  • B2. Minute Song
  • B3. Sugar Pie
  • B4. Makes Me Wonder Why
  • B5. Electric Chicken