Charles Mingus

The Black Saint And The Sinner Lady (VASSeries) (602435862156)

The Black Saint And The Sinner Lady (VASSeries) View larger

The Black Saint And The Sinner Lady (VASSeries)

Charles Mingus



LPS 166065




LP 38,83 €

Acoustic Sounds Series



Issued in glossy laminated gatefold jacket

On January 20, 1963, bassist and composer Charles Mingus recorded in just one session — astonishingly — a very personal and socially conscious work he titled The Black Saint & The Sinner Lady. With liner notes written by Mingus's psychotherapist, the album uses ornate ensemble orchestration to produce a sound somewhere between jazz and folk.

Released on Impulse! Records in 1963, the album consists of a single continuous composition — partially written as a ballet — divided into four tracks and six movements. Of his adventurous and hauntingly eloquent work, among his other creations, Mingus said: "My music is evidence of my soul's will to live." The evidence of that life-force amounts to some of the most dramatic and powerful jazz composed in the 20th century.


  • Charlie Mariano - alto sax
  • Charles Mingus - bass, piano
  • Dannie Richmond - drums
  • Jay Berliner - guitar
  • Jackie Byard - piano
  • Jerome Richardson - soprano & baritone sax
  • Dick Hafer - tenor sax, flute
  • Quentin Jackson - trombone
  • Richard Williams, Rolf Ericson - trumpet
  • Don Butterfield - tuba


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Solo Dancer
  • (Stop! And Listen, Sinner Jim Whitney!)
  • A2. Duet Solo Dancers
  • (Heart's Beat And Shades In Physical Embraces)
  • A3. Group Dancers
  • ([Soul Fusion] Freewoman And Oh This Freedom's Slave Cries)
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Trio And Group Dancers
  • (Stop! Look! And Sing Songs Of Revolutions!)
  • B2. Single Solos And Group Dance
  • B3. Group And Solo Dance (Of Love, Pain, And Passioned Revolt, Then Farewell, My Beloved, 'til It's Freedom Day)