Haki R. Madhubuti

Rise Vision Comin (Limited Edition) (LIFE021)

Rise Vision Comin (Limited Edition) View larger

Rise Vision Comin (Limited Edition)

Haki R. Madhubuti

Life Goes On Records


LPS 167065




LP 18,17 €

A legendary album of spoken word and spiritual jazz – put together by The Institute of Positive Education in Chicago, and featuring wisdom and knowledge from the legendary Haki R Madhubuti!

The album alternates shorter vocal/musical tracks with longer ones that are pure post-Coltrane jazz – played by a group that includes Wallace Roney on trumpet, Byron Harrison on guitar, and Rufus Wright on piano – all working with saxophonist Agyei Akoto, who's also the music director of the set.

There's an incredibly positive feel to the set – one that tackles the issues of the time, but which does so with a sense of optimism that's extremely rare today – and which is part of the real charm of the album.


  • Agyei Akoto (saxophone, flute)
  • Kehembe (vocals)
  • Reed Tuckson (drums)
  • Aiedo Mamadi (percussion)
  • Wallace Roney (trumpet)
  • Byron Harrison (guitar)
  • Clarence Seay (bass)
  • Rufus Wright (piano)
  • Haki R Madhubuti (poetry, vocals)


  • SIDE A
  • A1. We Are A Nation
  • A2. Talking Stick
  • A3. The Family
  • A4. Black Woman
  • A5. Walk The Way Of The New World
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Collectively
  • B2. Rise, Vision, Comin
  • B3. Black Man
  • B4. We Wound Each Other