Enrico Pieranunzi

Something Tomorrow (1018498)

Something Tomorrow View larger

Something Tomorrow

Enrico Pieranunzi



STA 167787




CD 12,38 €


Acclaimed Italian pianist Enrico Pieranunzi is at the zenith of his career and has now joined forces with the legendary French drummer André Ceccarelli and the acrobatic Danish double bass player Thomas Fonnesbaek. This trio encounter combines three of the very best European jazz stars and makes for an album played with dramatic coherence - a seldom sight when three major personalities meet.

Playing with Fonnesbaek seems to give wings to Pieranunzi, the two men listen and talk to each other like two accomplices, who meet again after a long absence. Fonnesbaek enjoys this intuitive game, where they listen intensely to each other, propose another tempo or a new melody. And they can count on the rhythmic precision and great musicality of André Ceccarelli, one of Pieranunzi's favourite drummers.

Pieranunzi is one of, if not the most, popular European pianist, likely due to a unique combination of influences, from his formative years in classical and Italian music to his collaborations with iconic film composer Ennio Morricone and output with the likes of Chet Baker and Lee Konitz. Pieranunzi never renounces bold and elegant music, for he is a poet of black and white. In the breath of his piano, there is a reflexive expression, a harmonic treatment full of subtleties. A lush romanticism lies deep at the heart of his music, when he lets his hands dance on the keys.


  • Enrico Pieranunzi (piano)
  • Thomas Fonnesaek (bass)
  • André Ceccarelli (drums)

Recorded in Copenhagen, September 5 & 6, 2021


  • 01. Those Days
  • 02. Perspectives
  • 03. Wave of Interest
  • 04. The Heart of a Child
  • 05. Something Tomorrow
  • 06. What Once Was
  • 07. Three Notes
  • 08. Suspension Points
  • 09. Je Ne Sais Quoi
  • 10. This Is New