The Brother Moves On

Tolika Mtoliki (Limited Edition) (MM123)

New Tolika Mtoliki (Limited Edition) View larger


Tolika Mtoliki (Limited Edition)

The Brother Moves On



LPS 168992




LP 24,78 €

A fantastic project from this contemporary South African performance ensemble – one that seeks to weave together older strands of sound from the nation's rich cultural heritage, and link them to a more contemporary mode of expression, as befits the group's role in the younger generation!

Some of the tunes here have older origins – initially created by artists who include Mongezi Feza, The Malopoets, Johnny Dyani, and others – but they are taken in all these new directions in ways that mix jazzy touches with soulful South African expression – handled by the group in a mix of tenor, alto, keyboards, guitar, bass, and drums. Siyabonga Mthembu handles lead vocals, and contributed a lot of lyrics to the set – and there's also vocal contributions from other group members too.


  • Siyabonga Mthembu - (vocals)
  • Muhammad Dawjee - (tenor sax, vocals on A3)
  • Mthunzi Mvubu - (alto sax, vocals on A3, Flute on B2)
  • Ayanda Zalekile - (bass on all tracks except A3, vocals on A3)
  • Zelizwe Mthembu - -(guitar, vocals on A3 & B3)
  • Simphiwe Tshabalala - (Drums, vocals on A3)
  • Bokani Dyer - (keys, vocals on A3)
  • Steve Dyer - (guitar on A3)
  • Ariel Zamonsky - (bass on A3)


  • SIDE A
  • A1. You Think You Know Me
  • A2. Fo Mo
  • A3. We Madoda
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Together
  • B2. Anishilabi
  • B3. Kea Bereka