Nat Birchall

Afro Trane (White Vinyl) (AAOS222)

Afro Trane (White Vinyl) View larger

Afro Trane (White Vinyl)

Nat Birchall

Ancient Archive Of Sound


LPS 169481




Currently unavailable

LP 28,91 €



One of the most beautiful, spiritual albums ever from saxophonist Nat Birchall – and that's really saying a lot, if you know his other records!

As you can guess from the title, the spirit of John Coltrane looms large on the record – and the tracks are a mix of Coltrane classics and new material by Nat – performed in these long, flowing modes that balance soulful lines on tenor and soprano with work on percussion, mbira, harmonium, piano, and even a bit of bass clarinet – the latter of which is a nod to a key moment when Eric Dolphy stepped in to the Coltrane group!

Yet despite the Coltrane influence, the sound here is very original – all Nat's own, as he layers his performances on the other instruments with really well-crafted saxophone solos – at a level that feels much more like a small spiritual combo presenting the music than just Birchall alone.

Tremendously beautiful – even better on record than it sounds on paper – with titles that include "Trane's Garden", "Dahomey Dance", "India", "Folk Song For Trane", "Acknowledgement", and "Afro Train".


  • Nat Birchall (tenor & soprano sax, bass clarinet, zurna, piano, harmonium, electric bass, drums, mbira, percussion)


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Acknowledgement - A Love Supreme Pt 1
  • A2. Trane’s Garden
  • A3. India
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Afro Trane
  • B2. Dahomey Dance
  • B3. Folk Song For Trane