Ian Carr

Ian Carr Nucleus: Labyrinth (Limited Gatefold) (bewith103lp)

Ian Carr Nucleus: Labyrinth (Limited Gatefold) Ver más grande


Ian Carr Nucleus: Labyrinth (Limited Gatefold)

Ian Carr

Be With Records


LPS 169675




LP 30,56 €


Ian Carr and the Nucleus crew were real favourites of US hip hop master Madlib. He valued their dark, brooding, menacing beats and spooky soundtracks and this album is a perfect example of that adsorbing broodiness.

It came on Vertigo in 1973 and was in part funded by the Arts Council of Great Britain. It started off life as a live show and then with an expanded cast become an album recording with help from vocalist Norma Winstone. Be With Records have remastered the whole record from original tapes and the sleeve has also been restored to its full original glory.


  • Ian Carr - (trumpet, flugelhorn, composer & arranger)
  • Tony Coe - (tenor saxophone, bass clarinet, clarinet)
  • Brian Smith - (tenor & soprano saxophones, flute)
  • Kenny Wheeler - (trumpet, flugelhorn)
  • Gordon Beck - (Hohner electric piano)
  • David MacRae - (Fender electric piano)
  • Paddy Kingsland - (VCS3 Synth)
  • Roy Babbington - (bass)
  • Tony Levin - (drums)
  • Clive Thacker - (drums)
  • Trevor Tomkins - (percussion)
  • Norma Winstone - (vocals)


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Origin
  • A2. Bull-Dance
  • A3. Ariadne
  • A4. Arena Part 1
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Arena Part 2
  • B2. Exultation
  • B3. Naxos