Julie London

Calendar Girl + Around Midnight (FM 608)

Promo! Calendar Girl + Around Midnight Agrandir l'image

Calendar Girl + Around Midnight

Julie London

Fine And Mellow


FAM 138263

FM 608



Calendar Girl + Around Midnight

Plus de détails

CD 8,22 €

2 CDs ON 1 LP

This release presents two thematic albums by the amazing Julie London, considered by many to be one of the most sensuous voices of jazz and popular music. Calendar Girl (Liberty SL9002) contains 13 songs, twelve of which feature a different month in the title (the set closes appropriately with Arthur Hamilton’s The Thirteenth Month), while Around Midnight (Liberty LST7164) is a collection of songs evoking nighttime. As a bonus, four rare tunes taped for Bethlehem featuring the singer fronting a band conducted by Bobby Troup (the producer of the first LP and London’s husband), which mark her earliest commercial recordings.


  vocals all tracks, plus:

[1-13] Calendar Girl
PETE KING (arranger & conductor) and His Orchestra.
Hollywood, May 1956. Original album produced by Bobby Troup.

[14-25] : Around Midnight
DICK REYNOLDS (arranger & conductor)
and His Orchestra. Hollywood, August 1960.

[26-29] : Bonus Tracks:
JULIE LONDON (vcl), with Bobby Troup and His Orchestra, including Buddy Collette (alto-fl),
Bobby Troup (celeste), Howard Roberts (g), Bob Enevoldsen (b), Don Heath (d).
Hollywood, March 2, 1955 [originally issued on Bethlehem’s Girlfriends (Bethlehem EXLP6)].



01. June In January
02. February Brings The Rain
03. Melancholy March
04. I’ll Remember April
05. People Who Are Born In May
06. Memphis In June
07. Sleigh Ride In July
08. Time For August
09. September In The Rain
10. This October
11. November Twilight
12. Warm December
13. The Thirteenth Month
14. ‘Round Midnight
15. Lonely In Paris
16. Misty
17. Black Coffee
18. Lush Life
19. In The Wee Small Hours Of The Morning
20. Don’t Smoke In Bed
21. You And The Night And The Music
22. Something Cool
23. How About Me?
24. But Not For Me
25. The Party’s Over
26. A Foggy Day*
27. Sometimes I Feel Like A Motherless Child*
28. You’re Blasé*
29. Don’t Worry ‘Bout Me*