Anthony Braxton

Quartet (New Haven) 2014 (FH12-04-02-030)

Quartet (New Haven) 2014 View larger

Quartet (New Haven) 2014

Anthony Braxton

Firehouse 12


DRJ 157737




This product is no longer in stock

CD 41,31 €

• 4 CDs in gatefold digipacks in casewrapped slipcase

Firehouse 12 Records is proud to release Anthony Braxton's "Quartet (New Haven) 2014", a deluxe 4-CD box set documenting the one-time meeting of an all-star quartet featuring the legendary saxophonist and conceptualist alongside Nels Cline (guitar), Greg Saunier (drums), and Taylor Ho Bynum (brass).

This album is a beautiful realization of both concerns: idiomatic synthesis and collaboration. It is a sincere acknowledgement of some of Braxton’s rock & roll heroes, a musical embrace of some of the rhythmic and timbral constructs of that form. At the same time, it is clearly an Anthony Braxton album – dispensing with any genre-based structural imitations or limitations in its thrilling explorations of creative possibility.


  • ANTHONY BRAXTON, soprano, alto, bariton, bass, and contrabass
  • TAYLOR HO BYNUM, cornet, flugelhorn, piccolo and bass trumpets
  • NELS CLINE, electric guitar
  • GREG SAUNIER, drums

Recorded June 2 and 3, 2014 at Firehouse 12 New Haven, CT.


  • CD 1. Improvisation One (For guitarist/composer Jimi Hendrix) 59:01
  • CD 2. Improvisation Two (For vocalist/composer Janis Joplin) 64:09
  • CD 3. Improvisation Three (For vocalist/composer James Brown) 58:30
  • CD 4. Improvisation Four (For guitarist/composer Merle Haggard) 57:14