Lee Morgan

Candy (AWMXR-0014)

Candy View larger


Lee Morgan

Audio Wave


GEN 167807




CD 33,04 €

Classical music is full of child prodigies but they are somewhat rare in jazz. Lee Morgan was an exception, for he was a brilliant trumpeter while still a teenager.

His musical genius is difficult to explain; but easy to hear. Lee Morgan emerged fully formed technically along with a crackling intensity and passion that was a joy to experience. By the time he recorded Candy in 1959, the 20-year old had already led five albums for Blue Note, and had logged valuable time with not only the Dizzy Gillespie Big Band, but also as a member of (what some consider) the finest edition of Art Blakey’s Jazz Messengers.

Candy is a unique item in Morgan´s history for it is the only quartet album that Morgan ever recorded. In fact, no other horns were needed! Candy features the trumpeter playing with beauty, fire, passion and a mature lyricism exceeding most musicians double his age.

Joined by a rhythm section of young giants including pianist Sonny Clark, Morgan burns on the faster pieces but puts plenty of feeling into “All The Way,” the soulful “Since I Fell For You” and “Personality.” At 20, Lee Morgan was already a modern master and, from this point forward, considered one of the great trumpet men of jazz. Who said that youth was wasted on the young?


  • Sonny Clark (piano)
  • Lee Morgan (trumpet)
  • Art Taylor (drums)
  • Doug Watkins (bass)

Recorded in New Jersey, November 18, 1957 and February 2, 1958


  • 01. Candy
  • 02. Since I Fell For You
  • 03. C.T.A.
  • 04. All The Way
  • 05. Who Do You Love I Hope
  • 06. Personality